Naruto, the iconic anime series created by Masashi Kishimoto, has captivated audiences worldwide with its compelling story, memorable characters, and thrilling action sequences. With multiple seasons, movies, and spin-offs, watching Naruto in chronological order can be a daunting task for newcomers and longtime fans alike. In this comprehensive guide, we’ll explore the best ways to watch Naruto in chronological order, ensuring an immersive and cohesive viewing experience.

Understanding Naruto's Chronology

Understanding Naruto’s Chronology

Naruto is divided into two main series: Naruto and Naruto Shippuden. The original Naruto series follows the adventures of a young ninja named Naruto Uzumaki as he trains to become the strongest ninja in his village and ultimately fulfill his dream of becoming the Hokage, the leader of the village. Naruto Shippuden continues the story, following Naruto and his friends as they face more formidable enemies and confront the challenges of adulthood.

Watching Naruto in Chronological Order

To watch Naruto in chronological order and experience the story as it unfolds, follow these steps:

1. Start with Naruto

Begin your Naruto journey by watching the original Naruto series, which consists of 220 episodes. This series introduces viewers to the world of ninjas, the hidden village of Konoha, and the young protagonist, Naruto Uzumaki. Follow Naruto’s adventures as he trains under the guidance of his mentor, Kakashi, forms friendships with fellow ninja apprentices Sakura and Sasuke, and embarks on missions to protect his village and uncover the secrets of his past.

2. Transition to Naruto Shippuden

Once you’ve completed the original Naruto series, transition to Naruto Shippuden, which picks up the story two and a half years after the events of the original series. Naruto Shippuden follows Naruto’s journey as he returns to Konoha after training with Jiraiya, a legendary ninja, and reunites with his friends to face new challenges and adversaries. With a total of 500 episodes, Naruto Shippuden delves deeper into Naruto’s quest for acceptance, friendship, and redemption, culminating in an epic showdown with powerful enemies and the fulfillment of his destiny.

3. Incorporate Movies and Specials

In addition to the main series, Naruto also includes several movies, OVAs (original video animations), and specials that expand upon the storyline and provide additional context to the characters and world of Naruto. While these movies and specials are not essential to the main plot, they can enhance your viewing experience and offer entertaining side stories and adventures featuring fan-favorite characters.

4. Follow Chronological Order within Naruto Shippuden

Within the Naruto Shippuden series, episodes are grouped into various story arcs that focus on specific characters, themes, or plotlines. To watch Naruto Shippuden in chronological order, follow the sequence of story arcs as they unfold, starting with the Kazekage Rescue arc and progressing through subsequent arcs such as the Tenchi Bridge Reconnaissance Mission, the Akatsuki Suppression Mission, and the Fourth Shinobi World War.

5. Watch Naruto: The Last and Boruto

Once you’ve completed Naruto Shippuden, consider watching Naruto: The Last – a movie set after the events of the main series that serves as a bridge to the sequel series, Boruto: Naruto Next Generations. Boruto follows the adventures of Naruto’s son, Boruto Uzumaki, and his generation of ninjas as they navigate the challenges of a rapidly changing world and forge their paths as shinobi.


Watching Naruto in chronological orderĀ allows viewers to fully immerse themselves in the rich and expansive world of ninjas, battles, and friendships that define the series. By following the suggested sequence of episodes, movies, and specials, fans can experience Naruto’s epic journey from an aspiring young ninja to a legendary hero, ensuring a rewarding and unforgettable viewing experience. Whether you’re a newcomer to the series or a longtime fan revisiting the world of Naruto, watching in chronological order is the perfect way to relive the magic of this beloved anime.